Paracas

We moseyed on to Paracas after checking out the Nazca lines. We were exhausted from being on the move all the time and thought it would be nice to spend a few days in the same place…and in all honesty, we needed to do laundry which is quite difficult if you’re always moving. We arrived in Paracas and it’s pretty much one street with another almost-street along the water. There are a lot of restaurants but we figured they were all more or less the same. Tripadvisor didn’t say anything about most of them so we weren’t very excited about the food but we were very excited about having a place to call home for more than one night. 

Paracas is located where desert meets ocean and it’s where I saw my first pelican. The bay was quite pretty but the beaches weren’t very clean so walking on them was not a very good option. Remember, dear reader, that I am a spoiled beach snob. It’s not my fault, please blame my Mom for choosing to live on the west coast of an island for the first eleven years of my life.Sunset was lovely, especially with a beer accompanying the vista.

Much to my entertainments, Paracs is home to some of the ugliest dogs ever. There were probably about three or four bald dogs with orange or yellow strips of fur near their heads and then little tufts of fluffs randomly distributed along their bodies.A very ugly dog.

There are some islands near Paracas called Islas Ballestas. Some people call these “Poor Man’s Galapagos” and they’re really quite nice. We went out to them in a speedboat and it felt wonderful to be out on the water again. John, if you’re reading this (which you better be because you’re one of my Olds), your boat is still better and you let me sit at the very tip. They made me sit in a seat in this boat. The nerve!

We saw plenty of birds and sea lions on the islands. My favourites were the penguins. They’re just so wonderful when they walk! Wobbling this way and that, flippers dangling by their sides, they’re definitely one of my favourite animals. Unfortunately they are rather difficult to capture in pictures so you’re left to your imaginations in regards to those delightful birds.

There was a candelabra-shaped set of lines similar to the Nazca Lines that cause many people to wonder about their function. One theory is that they marked something’s for pirates but I truly believe that pirates would be more discreet about their secrets.Mystery lines on an island near Paracas.

The ocean has eroded the Islas.

Paracas was relaxing and it was nice having clean clothes again but after our time there we were ready to head to Lima for a little bit more time in the city before parting ways. For me another motive was going back to the park with the cats in it. While there, we talked to someone who works in Florida with opera singers which was quite interesting. Our other big activity was going to the food market. I was hoping for something similar to the food market in Arequipa but it was much smaller scale and did not have the same exciting market feeling in it.

After our time in Lima, Mum and I went to the airport. I had a flight to Quito and she had a flight to Victoria. We tried not to cry when we said goodbye but my Mummy is my Mummy and we had a six month wait until our reunion. Alas, we parted ways and I headed onwards to my next adventure!

Leave a comment